This is the original version of Straight Outta Compton. A CD version, was released in 1989 and contained 13 tracks, with "8 Ball (remix)" and "Something Like That" appearing between "Parental Discretion Iz Advised" and "Express Yourself", and "Something 2 Dance 2" as the closing track.

Debut album on Ruthless/Priority.
Licensed by several labels for worldwide distribution, including 4th and Broadway/Island UK (cat: BRLP 534).

Art Direction: Helane Freeman.
Photography: Eric Poppleton.

Annotation last modified on 2011-05-19 01:35 UTC.


12" Vinyl 1
# Title Rating Length
A1 Straight Outta Compton 4.5 4:18
A2 Fuck tha Police 4.4 5:46
A3 Gangsta Gangsta 3.75 5:36
A4 If It Ain’t Ruff 4 3:34
A5 Parental Discretion Iz Advised 3 5:15
B1 Express Yourself 4 4:25
B2 Compton’s N the House (remix) 3 5:20
B3 I Ain’t tha 1 2 4:54
B4 Dopeman (remix) 3 5:20
B5 Quiet on tha Set 4 3:59


12" Vinyl 1

Ant Banks (track B4)
Leroy Bonner (track A3)
Andre Young (Andre Young, rap producer) (track A3)
Eazy‐E (track A3)
Ice Cube (tracks A3, B4)
Marshall Jones (US bassist & songwriter, member of Ohio Players) (track A3)
Dedrick Rolison (track B4)
Walter Morrison (track A3)
MC Ren (track A3)
Andrew Noland (track A3)
Greg Webster (drummer for Ohio Players) (track A3)
Charles Wright (track B1)
Eazy‐E (track A3)
Ice Cube (tracks A3, B1)
MC Ren (track A3)
Andre Young (Andre Young, rap producer) (track A1)
Yella (US hip-hop/electro producer Antoine Carraby) (tracks A1–B5)
Andre Young (Andre Young, rap producer) (track A5)
Eazy‐E (tracks A1, A5)
Ice Cube (tracks A1, A5)
MC Ren (tracks A1, A5)
The D.O.C. (US rapper & N.W.A member Tracy Curry) (track A5)
Andre Young (Andre Young, rap producer) (tracks A1, A4, B2)
Eazy‐E (tracks A1, A5)
Ice Cube (tracks A1–A2, A5, B2–B3)
Randy Muller (track B3)
MC Ren (tracks A1–A2, A4–A5, B2, B5)
In the House Tonight by dj BC (track B2)
Smells Like Compton (N.W.A. vs. Nirvana) (Best of Bootie 2005 DJ-mix) by Cheekyboy (track A1)
The Right Kind by E-603 (track A1)
sampled by:
Compton by Syndicate (track A1)
DP Gangsta (explicit) by Snoop Dogg feat. C‐Murder & Eddie Griffin (track A3)
Gangsta, Gangsta by Beanie Sigel feat. Kurupt (track A3)
Gold by Sir Mix‐A‐Lot (track B4)
Sa Prize, Part 2 by N.W.A (track A2)
Get Me Back on Time, Engine #9 by Wilson Pickett (lead vocals) (track A1)
It's My Turn by Dezo Daz feat. DJ Slip (lead vocals) (track A1)
part of:
The Rolling Stone Magazine’s 500 Greatest Songs of All Time (as at 2016-06-10) (number: 417) (track A2)
has revision:
Express Yourself (track B1)
is the basis for:
Fuck the MPAA (track A2)
later translated versions:
Adieraz zaitez (track B1)
recording of:
Dopeman (track B4)
Express Yourself (N.W.A) (track B1)
Fuck tha Police (track A2)
Gangsta Gangsta (track A3)
I Ain’t tha 1 (track B3)
If It Ain’t Ruff (track A4)
Quiet on tha Set (track B5)


executive producer:Eazy‐E
producer:Dr. Dre (Andre Young, rap producer)
Yella (US hip-hop/electro producer Antoine Carraby)
mastering:Brian Gardner (mastering engineer “Big Bass Brian”)
Bernie Grundman
remastered versions:Straight Outta Compton (remastered, explicit)
Discogs: [info]
ASIN:US: B000003B6I [info]