Debut album. Winner of the Mercury Prize for Best British Album on 7th September, 2004.
Initial quantities of the UK release included a bonus disc containing a recording of a live concert.

Other album credits

Back cover by Vivian Lewis
Band photo by Joe Dilworth
Black and white photo by Roxanne Clifford
Other artwork by Franz Ferdinand and Matthew Cooper

Manager: Cerne Canning

Annotation last modified on 2010-01-01 12:39 .


12" Vinyl 1
# Title Rating Length
A1 Jacqueline
3.5 3:49
A2 Tell Her Tonight
3.35 2:18
A3 Take Me Out
4.25 3:57
A4 The Dark of the Matinée
3.8 4:03
A5 Auf Achse
3 4:20
B1 Cheating on You
2.5 2:37
B2 This Fire
4 4:15
B3 Darts of Pleasure
3.65 3:00
B4 Michael
4 3:21
B5 Come On Home
4.35 3:46
B6 40′
3 3:23


12" Vinyl 1

Tore Johansson (tracks A2, B2)
Franz Ferdinand (tracks A2, B2)
Tore Johansson (tracks A1, A3–B1, B3–B6)
Bob Hardy (bassist for Franz Ferdinand) (tracks A1, A4)
Alex Kapranos (tracks A1–B6)
Nick McCarthy (tracks A1–B6)
phonographic copyright by:
Domino Recording Co. Ltd. (not for release label use!) (2003) (track B3)
Domino Recording Co. Ltd. (not for release label use!) (2004) (tracks A1–B2, B4–B6)
Universal PolyGram International Publishing, Inc. (existed only since ca. 1998) (track A3)
has remixes:
Michaela by Dompteur Mooner (track B4)
Disco Wit Chu by ToToM (track A3)
Take Me Out Blues by ToToM (track A3)
Triple Take by McSleazy (track A3)
sampled by:
Burn This City by Lil Wayne feat. Twista (track B2)
part of:
Indie 88: Top 500 Indie Rock Songs (number: 80) (track A3)
later versions:
Words So Leisured (track B3)
recording of:
40′ (track B6)
Auf Achse (track A5)
Cheating on You (track B1)
Come On Home (track B5)
Darts of Pleasure (track B3)
Jacqueline (track A1)
Michael (track B4)
Take Me Out (track A3)
Tell Her Tonight (track A2)
This Fire (track B2)
referred to in medleys:
Polkarama! (track A3)