Alfred Scholz was a prolific producer of budget recordings, who fraudulently sold recordings credited with fake artists and orchestras. Sometimes the names of real people were given credit for performances which were not theirs. Working as a conductor, he performed under the guise of Alberto Lizzio as well as many other names.

"Alberto Lizzio" was a pseudonym invented by Scholz and attached to older recordings which he obtained and then credited with fake artists like Hans Swarowsky (2) (who was a real conductor and also Scholz's teacher, but was never on any of Scholz's recording) or himself. "Hans Zanotelli" (the name of a real conductor and also Scholz's fellow student) was another name fraudulently used on Alfred Scholz's records, as are Milan Horvat and Carl Melles.
It is not clear if Alfred Scholz was a real conductor who was also a fraudster, or the perpetrator of the fraud, who was using his name as well as many others, real or imaginary as "conductors" on his recordings.
The most common orchestra used by Scholz in his fake productions was the Süddeutsche Philharmonie or "South German Philharmonic". If the attribution is correct, this was originally a short-lived pick-up ensemble assembled by Scholz from members of the Czech Philharmonic in Prague and the Bamberg Symphony around 1968. Other fake orchestras conducted by fake conductors include Philharmonia Slavonica.

Many dozens of budget labels use the recordings originally obtained from Alfred Scholz, who had a catalog of about 2000 titles. Most of these were old analogue recordings made between 1968 and 1970 for Polyband and Primaton and by the Austrian Radio prior to 1977. The recordings by the Austrian Radio were sold in 1977 to PREMIS, a company owned or controlled by Scholz. His catalog also includes a limited number of legitimate digital recordings made in England (London), Slovenia (Ljubljana), Slovakia (Bratislava), and Hungary (Budapest).
The catalog subsequently passed into the ownership of Musikförderung and is now owned by Point Productions.


Annotation last modified on 2019-11-02 14:08 UTC.


CD 1
# Title Artist Rating Length
1 Symphonie Nr. 53 D-Dur "L'Impériale": I. Largo Maestoso-Vivace Josef Haydn 7:36
2 Symphonie Nr. 53 D-Dur "L'Impériale": II. Andante Josef Haydn 6:36
3 Symphonie Nr. 53 D-Dur "L'Impériale": III. Menuetto Josef Haydn 3:52
4 Symphonie Nr. 53 D-Dur "L'Impériale": IV. Finale: Capriccio-Moderato Josef Haydn 5:09
5 Symphonie Nr. 94 G-Dur "Surprise": I. Adagio Cantabile-Vivace Assai Josef Haydn 9:37
6 Symphonie Nr. 94 G-Dur "Surprise": II. Andante Josef Haydn 6:28
7 Symphonie Nr. 94 G-Dur "Surprise": III. Menuetto (Allegro Molto) Josef Haydn 4:56
8 Symphonie Nr. 94 G-Dur "Surprise": IV. Finale (Allegro Molto) Josef Haydn 4:08


CD 1

Joseph Haydn (composer) (tracks 1–4)
Joseph Haydn (composer) (1791) (tracks 5–8)
Alberto Lizzio (conductor, pseudonym for Alfred Scholz) (tracks 1–4)
Alfred Scholz (tracks 5–8)
Musici di San Marco (an Alfred Scholz pseudonym) (tracks 1–4)
Philharmonia Slavonica (an Alfred Scholz pseudonym) (tracks 5–8)
Andante from Symphony no. 94 (for piano, Alkan) (track 6)
Symphony no. 94 in G major, Hob. I:94 “Surprise”: II. Andante (for chamber ensemble, Salomon) (track 6)
is the basis for:
The Mystery (track 6)
part of:
recording of: