12" Vinyl 1
# Title Rating Length
A1 I Ain't the One 3.65 3:51
A2 Tuesday's Gone 5 7:32
A3 Gimme Three Steps 4.5 4:30
A4 Simple Man 4.8 5:57
B1 Things Goin' On 4 4:57
B2 Mississippi Kid 3.35 3:57
B3 Poison Whiskey 3.65 3:11
B4 Free Bird 5 9:08


12" Vinyl 1

electric bass guitar:
Ed King (US guitarist, bassist & songwriter) (tracks A3–A4)
drums (drum set):
Bob Burns (Lynyrd Skynyrd drummer) (tracks A1–B4)
Robert Nix (track A2)
bass guitar:
Ed King (US guitarist, bassist & songwriter) (tracks A1, A3–B1, B3–B4)
bass guitar and mellotron:
Roosevelt Gook (track A2)
Bob Burns (Lynyrd Skynyrd drummer) (track B4)
Roosevelt Gook (tracks A4, B3–B4)
Al Kooper (track B4)
guitar [lead guitar]:
Ed King (US guitarist, bassist & songwriter) (track B2)
Gary Rossington (tracks A2–A3, B3)
Allen Collins (track B4)
guitar [rhythm guitar]:
Gary Rossington (tracks A1, A4–B2, B4)
Allen Collins (tracks A1–B3)
Steve Katz (guitarist for Blood, Sweat & Tears) (track B2)
electric guitar:
Gary Rossington (tracks A3–A4)
Allen Collins (tracks A3–A4)
Bobbi Hall (tracks A3, B1)
Billy Powell (tracks A1–B4)
bass drum and mandolin:
Roosevelt Gook (track B2)
guitar family:
Gary Rossington (track B4)
Allen Collins (track B4)
background vocals [backup harmony vocals]:
Roosevelt Gook (track A2)
Bob Burns (Lynyrd Skynyrd drummer) (track B2)
Ed King (US guitarist, bassist & songwriter) (track B3)
Al Kooper (track B2)
Gary Rossington (tracks A1, B1)
Allen Collins (tracks A2–A3, B4)
Ronnie Van Zant (tracks A1–A3, B1–B4)
Al Kooper (tracks A1–B4)
Bob "Tub" Langford (tracks A1–B4)
Rodney Mills (tracks A1–B4)
Danny Turbeville (tracks A1–B4)
lead vocals:
Ronnie Van Zant (tracks A1–B4)
Allen Collins (track B4)
Ronnie Van Zant (track B4)
Al Kooper (tracks A1–B4)
Ronnie Van Zant (tracks A3–A4)
Gary Rossington (track A4)
Ronnie Van Zant (track A4)
EMI Longitude Music (track A4)
recorded at:
Studio One (Doraville, GA) in Doraville, Georgia, United States (tracks A1–B4)
has remixes:
sampled by:
Day in the Park by Gack (track A1)
part of:
The Rolling Stone Magazine’s 500 Greatest Songs of All Time (as at 2016-06-10) (number: 191) (track B4)
later parody versions:
Cheap Birds (track B4)
Freebird (track B4)
Gimme Pre-Trib (track A3)
recording of:
Free Bird (1973) (track B4)
Gimme Three Steps (1973) (track A3)
I Ain’t the One (1973) (track A1)
Mississippi Kid (1973) (track B2)
Poison Whiskey (1973) (track B3)
Simple Man (1973) (track A4)
Things Goin’ On (1973) (track B1)
Tuesday’s Gone (1973) (track A2)
referred to in medleys: