2017: The Best of the Year

~ Release by Various Artists (see all versions of this release, 1 available)


Compiled By – Dave Henderson
Liner Notes – Danny Eccleston

Given away free with Mojo January 2018. Not to be sold separately.

Annotation last modified on 2017-11-24 19:16 UTC.


CD 1
1PainThe War on Drugs3.65:30
Neil Comber (engineer) and Jamie McEvoy
producer and mixer:
Neil Comber (engineer)
Felix Higginbottom
Harvey Grant
Samuel Hudson Scott (trumpet-player for Youthmovies)
additional vocals:
Fanta Barry and Hawa Dembele
Songhoy Blues53:40
3Satellite Kid
Paul Weller5:20
4Immigrant Boogie
6Right on Time
Nadia Reid4:23
7Hungry Ghost
Hurray for the Riff Raff3:26
8An Epic Story
Peter Perrett3:22
9Hotter ColderThis Is the Kit3:58
10Back in '74
recording of:
Back in ’74
Endless Boogie (improvisational blues rock/psychedelic rock group)
Endless Boogie6:42
11Er Ra
recording of:
Er Ra
lyricist and composer:
Alice Coltrane
Alice Coltrane4:58
12Natural Blue
recording engineer and mixer:
Eric Littmann
Julie Byrne44:00
13Shady Lady
recording engineer and producer:
Bill Leader
acoustic guitar:
Martin Carthy
bass guitar:
Ashley Hutchings
drums (drum set) [drums]:
Dave Mattacks
guitar [lead guitar]:
Richard Thompson (UK folk rock singer/songwriter)
Martin Carthy, Tim Hart (UK folk singer and multi-instrumentalist), Maddy Prior, Lal Waterson (English folksinger), Mike Waterson (English folk singer) and Norma Waterson (English folk musician)
recording of:
Shady Lady
lyricist and composer:
Mike Waterson (English folk singer)
Lal & Mike Waterson3:18
recording of:
Richard Dawson (UK singer-songwriter / guitarist)
Richard Dawson6:56
15Yere Faga
recording engineer:
Barou Oumar Diallo (background vocals [backing vocals]), Philippe Brun (mastering engineer) (drums (drum set) [drums]), Yaya Diarra (background vocals [backing vocals]), Simon Nordberg (lead vocals), Vincent Taurelle (marimba, guitar, keyboard [keyboards], bass guitar [bass], shakers) and Andreas Unge (lead vocals, drums (drum set) [drums])
Bertrand Fresel
bass guitar and guitar:
Ludovic Bruni
drums (drum set) [drums]:
Tony Allen (Nigerian-born drummer and composer)
handclaps [claps] and lead vocals:
Oumou Sangaré
keyboard [keyboards]:
Vincent Taurelle
marimba and shakers [shaker]:
Vincent Taeger
background vocals [backing vocals]:
Pamela Badjogo, Mariam Kone, Naba Traoré and Dandio Sidibe
recorded at:
Studio Bois et Charbon in Paris, Île-de-France, France (drums (drum set) [drums]), Studio La Marquise (Recording studio located in Pantin, France) in Pantin, Seine-Saint-Denis, Île-de-France, France (marimba, guitar, keyboard [keyboards], bass guitar [bass], shakers), Studio Yeelen in Bamako, Mali (background vocals [backing vocals]) and Stureparken Studio in Stockholm, Stockholms län, Sweden (lead vocals)
mixed at:
Studio Juno in Yerres, Essonne, Île-de-France, France
Oumou Sangaré45:11