Year Zero

~ Release group by Slam


Year ZeroCD10
  • GB2004-08-30
Soma Quality RecordingsSOMA CD038796122003820


Discogs: [info]
reviews: [info]

CritiqueBrainz Reviews

There’s 1 review on CritiqueBrainz. You can also write your own.

Most Recent

Scottish duo of Orde Meikle and Stuart McMillan, return this month with Year Zero - their highly awaited follow up to Alien Radio - which is already sending pundits scurrying for their thesauruses for creative superlatives.

Slam's reputation is built on a foundation of being one of the dependable, invigorating sources of high-quality dancefloor tackle; the bar has been set high. Yet to their credit Year Zero lives up to the hoopla, mixing and matching influences that range from electro ("Metropolitan Cosmopolitan") to '80s pop (Billie Ray Martin features on synthetic soul of "Bright Lights Fading" - imagine the chanteuse singing along to Kraftwerk's subterranean rhythms).

In between the musical spectrum swings from funky grooves to even dub influences: the Princely-sounding "Fast Lane" featuring Envoy's chant-like delivery tones, and the old skool sounding electro-etched "Blow Your Mind" respectively. Accompaniment includes Detroit techno doyenne Anne Saunderson on the upcoming single "Lie To Me" - a slick slice of emotive house, falling somewhere between her pop-tinged Inner City and gospel-orientated Reese Project recordings. But it's the welcome return of fellow Glaswegian, Dot Allison (who's unique tones graced Alien Radio), that steals the show with the haunting simply ethereal "Kill The Pain".

The duo's love of warm danceable grooves, with a strong and sometimes leftfield-edge are reflected in the very essence of this conceptual collection, that aptly demonstrates why Slam are firmly ensconced as one of the UK's leading electronic producers.