Dinar Bandosu is a psychedelic rock band from Istanbul, Turkey rooted in the tradition of 70s and 90s Turkish psychedelia. Aiming to transmit their sound universally from the past to the future, they extend the limits of neo-Ottoman culture. Their music sounds like a mixture of Erkin Koray, Mogollar, Okay Temiz, Barıs Manço, Mavi Isıklar, Syd Barrett’s “Punk” Floyd, The Doors, 13th Floor Elevators, Primal Scream, Pixies, The Stooges, Velvet Underground, Joy Division, Spritualized, 70s’ Turkish movie soundtracks, krautrock and Turkish art music. The early Dinar Bandosu contributed a Syd Barrett mixed cover of "Interstellar Vegetable Man" to a global fan compilation, recording project. Dinar Bandosu plays psychedelic groovy Ottoman folk rock and they have two official releases: "Saykodelikdesik" (2007) and "Aya da Gidelim Osman" (2010) from Utopya Muzik (

After some brilliant, long and extremely different performances in the underground Istanbul scene, they released their debut album “Saykodelikdesik” in June 2007. The album was recorded at M.I.A.M., the Center for Advanced Studies in Music at Istanbul Technical University, by: Aziz Berk Erten, Mehmet Ates (producer), and Dinar Bandosu. It was released by Ütopya Muzik by Ayhan Orhuntas. The album was well received by the media (even the mainstream). The first video “En Güzel Kadın Istanbul” from Saykodelikdesik was broadcast on the country’s top music channel. After releasing the first album, Dinar Bandosu played numerous summer festivals and events up until their second album release which was released early 2010.

The second album, "Aya da Gidelim Osman" was recorded by Serhat Ersöz (of the band "Mogollar") in his recording studio S.E.S. Mixing and was mastered by Serhat Ersöz, Oguzcan Sehiraltı, and Dinar Bandosu. The album was completed by the end of May 2009 and was released from Utopia Music on 1st February 2010. "Aya da Gidelim Osman" means: "Let's go to the moon Osman", symbolizing the enslaved and insulted human kind today. Osman is the name of the dog of band member Asaf Zeki Yüksel. The concept of the album refers to escape from the world and its unsightliness on the 40th anniversary of the moon landing.

Dinar Bandosu was re-formed in mid-2012 and started to write new songs for their third studio album.

Current members of Dinar Bandosu are: Asaf Zeki YÜKSEL (ney, theremin, trumpet, analog synthesizer, hose, and backing vocals), Yılma KARATUNA (drums, percussion, and backing vocals), Ali Asaf SARICA (vocals), Douglas VEGAS (electric guitar and keyboard) and Erdem AYDAS (bass guitar and baglama).

Official website of the band:

Annotation last modified on 2012-07-16 11:49 .



Year Title RatingReleases
2007 Saykodelikdeşik 1
2010 Aya da Gidelim Osman 1

Showing all release groups by this artist. Show only official release groups instead, or show various artists release groups.