Motion Picture Soundtrack are a British alternative rock quartet from Canterbury, Kent. Since their inception, the band has been composed of Alastair Blackwood (lead vocals, guitar, piano), Nick Watts (lead guitar), Will Hasler (bass guitar) and Graeme Blackwood (drums, percussion and backing vocals).

The name comes from the band's love of film soundtracks, having been heavily influenced by Thomas Newman, Craig Armstrong and alternative acts such as Sigur Ros, Talk Talk, Cocteau Twins and Massive Attack. Motion Picture Soundtrack self-released their first studio album 'The Shapes We Fear Are Of Our Own' on March 1st 2010 through the band's label Endgame Records. Produced by Paul Schroeder (Stone Roses, The Verve) in Copenhagen, the band returned to London to mix the tracks with Cenzo Townshend (U2, 30 Seconds To Mars, Florence and the Machine, Snow Patrol) in Olympic Studios, London.

Motion Picture Soundtrack released their debut single 'Departure' on September on September 7th 2009, reaching #6 in Total Guitar Magazine top-downloaded charts, with the follow-up 'Glass Figures' (#10 in TG's top download chart) on February 22nd 2010. 'The Shapes We Fear Are Of Our Own' was released on March 1st 2010 and the buzz has been quickly growing, with the band invited on March 29th to the BBC's Maida Vale Studios for a live session, winning the Emerging Talent DIY Award at Camden Crawl and performing at the Reading & Leeds festival 2010 courtesy of the BBC Introducing stage.

Annotation last modified on 2011-08-03 12:23 UTC.



Year Title RatingReleases
2010 The Shapes We Fear Are of Our Own 5 1

Album + Soundtrack

Year Title RatingReleases
1999 Notting Hill 1


Year Title RatingReleases
2010 Glass Figures 5 1
2010 The Strings That Tie To You 5 1


Year Title RatingReleases
2009 Departure EP 5 1

Showing official release groups by this artist. Show all release groups instead, or show various artists release groups.